Puddle Jumpin’

I thought I was going to catch a break this morning when I looked outside to see that it was not raining. However, that dream was quickly washed away as 10mins later it was pouring.

I didn’t want to run this morning, last night my whole body was tired, my chest felt heavy my legs felt like lead weights, my back felt sore. I decided to go to bed early and when I woke I felt much better despite the fact that it was raining.

I decided to wear my old shoes because even if it stopped raining there would countless puddles to splash around. The rain increased as I drove to my starting location and I sat in my car for a minute or two hating the rain and the crappy weather. Then as quickly as I hated the moment a switched was turned and I embraced the morning and the situation.

You can’t control the weather, only your attitude. The rain was a steady mist for most of my run. I had a few miles of actual rain but for the most part it wasn’t as bad is it could have been.

My shoes held up pretty well, but I could feel that they were not supportive as my other pair. My feet started to hurt and I felt the fatigue in my feet as over the second half of the run. I pushed forward, and thought about the end and just tried to keep a steady pace, one foot in front of another. It wasn’t my best run but I feel much better to be finished and to be finished before a heavy down pour fell from the sky.

My post run activities consisted of pealing off my wet clothes, stuffing my shoes with newspaper, and icing my legs and feet while eating a bowl of cereal. Some days it seems like there isn’t enough ice to numb the areas that hurt.

Well I’m glad that I wasn’t washed away this morning, 13.1 miles are in the books, and this week of training is complete. Time to recover and gear up for another week. 29 days till NYCM. 14 days till the Hershey Half Marathon. Time is flying by!!!

Focus on being your best!

This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment